Working of ARGoS simulator

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
Waqar731
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby Waqar731 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:14 pm

Hi
Can we use both LUA and cpp controller in parallel for same experiment in ARGoS simulator? Means some part of code can be in LUA and some part of the code can be in C++. Is it possible with current version of ARGoS?


Thanks
Waqar Hussain

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby pincy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:18 pm

I don't think I understand the question, what are you trying to achieve?
I made ARGoS.

Waqar731
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby Waqar731 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:26 pm

Actually I have written few part of my project in LUA and now I want to implement further part of code using c++. In simple words if we have two functions in my project. Can we run first function using LUA and second function using C++ but the file .argos is same. If this is possible?
Waqar Hussain

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby pincy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:39 pm

Everything is possibile, but I don't understand what you're trying to achieve. Do you have one controller? Two controllers? Please be specific so I can understand how to help you.
I made ARGoS.

Waqar731
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby Waqar731 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:43 pm

Basically I am also trying it for the first time. I have implemented obstacle avoidance using LUA and now I want to implement object detection in the same controller but using C++. Then how to mention both LUA and c++ controller in argos file because in my case due to one controller argos file is same. Thats why I have asked about its possibility.
Waqar Hussain

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby pincy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:19 pm

It's a question that is not really about ARGoS, but about how to interface Lua and C++. I can try to put together an example and add to the repository, but make sure to read the Lua documentation: https://www.lua.org/manual/5.4/manual.html#4
I made ARGoS.

Waqar731
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Working of ARGoS simulator

Postby Waqar731 » Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:06 am

I will wait for example. Thank You Sir!
Waqar Hussain


Return to “How to... ?”