Page 1 of 1

Footbot distance scanner implementation

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:09 pm
by titpierrot
Hello !

I have achieve to implement the footbot gripper, the footbot proximity sensor and other modules with the help of the examples.
For now, I try to implement the distance scanner like I do for others modules, but it doesn't work and I don't understand why.

I call the footbot distance scanner with this line in the actuator field of my .argos files :
<footbot_distance_scanner implementation="default">
After that, I call the sensor in the sensor field of the .argos file with this line :
<footbot_distance_scanner implementation="default" show_rays="true">

When I try to launch the experiments, I get this :
Couldn't load ./experiments/Project.argos <ticpp.cpp@823>
Description: Error reading end tag.
File: ./experiments/Project.argos
Line: 34
Column: 7

Wich is corresponding with the place of the file where I try to implement the actuator.

Thank you for help !

Re: Footbot distance scanner implementation

Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:33 pm
by pincy
Instead of this:

Code: Select all

<footbot_distance_scanner implementation="default">
you have to write this:

Code: Select all

<footbot_distance_scanner implementation="default" />
Notice the /> to close the tag, instead of just >. Same for the other line.

Re: Footbot distance scanner implementation

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:07 pm
by titpierrot
Thank you, I don't know how could I not see that.

I have made the correction, but now, I have this when I try to launch the simulation :

[FATAL] Failed to initialize the space.
[FATAL] Error while trying to distribute entities
[FATAL] Failed to initialize entity "fb0".
[FATAL] Failed to initialize controllable entity "controller_0".
[FATAL] Can't set controller for controllable entity "controller_0"
[FATAL] Symbol "footbot_distance_scanner (default)" not found

I understand that the simulator can't initialize the footbot, but why ?

Thank you for your help !

Re: Footbot distance scanner implementation

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:09 pm
by pincy
Because the correct line for the sensor is

Code: Select all

<footbot_distance_scanner implementation="rot_z_only" />
instead of

Code: Select all

<footbot_distance_scanner implementation="default" />
Refer to the output of "argos3 -q distance" for more information.

Re: Footbot distance scanner implementation

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:31 pm
by titpierrot
Thank you very much !
That's work, and the "argos3 -q " command help me a lot.