Increase footbot proximity sensor range

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
andraspatka
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:15 pm

Increase footbot proximity sensor range

Postby andraspatka » Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:09 pm

Hello,

Is there any way to increase the footbot proxmity sensor's range? (so obstacles from further away can be detected). If so, then how?

Thanks in advance!

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Increase footbot proximity sensor range

Postby pincy » Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:57 pm

Not without recompiling the code of the robot you're using, unfortunately.
I made ARGoS.

andraspatka
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:15 pm

Re: Increase footbot proximity sensor range

Postby andraspatka » Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:57 am

I understand. Could I get some guidance as to what exactly needs to be modified in order to achieve this? I looked through the code and couldn't exactly find it.

Thanks in advance!

andraspatka
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:15 pm

Re: Increase footbot proximity sensor range

Postby andraspatka » Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:34 pm

In the meantime I found where the code needs to be changed in order to achieve what I'm trying to do. Thanks anyways, I'm posting the solution so if anyone else encounters such a problem, they can find the solution quickly :D
In the footbot_entity.cpp the PROXIMITY_SENSOR_RING_RANGE constant determines the length of the proximity sensor. By increasing this, the sensor range is increased as well.

Ryan
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 3:26 am

Re: Increase footbot proximity sensor range

Postby Ryan » Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:37 pm

Maybe you can use the distance_scanner to achieve the same function


Return to “How to... ?”