Getting robots coordinates in lua

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
LordJops

Getting robots coordinates in lua

Postby LordJops » Fri Sep 11, 2020 1:06 am

Hello,
i'm a beginner in argos and i may have missed it, i need to collect fotbots positions (x and y coordinates) for my aggregation algorithm so i can use them to calculate the surface and other metrics
is there a way to get the positions of fotbots in lua? any other ideas are welcomed.
i have another question too, i want to use multiple light sources with different intensity and make robots aggregate around them and the higher the intensity the bigger the group will be, so how do i get the intensity value from inside the controller? also in lua.
Thanks in advance for your help.

LordJops

Re: Getting robots coordinates in lua

Postby LordJops » Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:15 pm

I found the solution in an old forum post from 2015
and here is Mr pincy's answer if anyone need it in the future:
add the positioning sensor in the .argos file (check out argos3 -q positioning for details).

Then you can access the data from Lua in the tables robot.positioning.position and robot.positioning.orientation. Shift-click on a robot to see the details of these data structures

LordJops

Postby LordJops » Sat Sep 12, 2020 8:41 am

i ran into a problem, when i add that line in sensors in the .argos file, i get an error saying i'm trying to index a nil value

Code: Select all