No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby AntonioC » Sun Dec 19, 2021 4:26 pm

My Ubuntu version is 18.
When I run the command cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release ../src the terminal prints the following text

-- The C compiler identification is GNU 7.5.0
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 7.5.0
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/cc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/cc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- Found PkgConfig: /usr/bin/pkg-config (found version "0.29.1")
-- Checking for module 'argos3_simulator'
-- No package 'argos3_simulator' found
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPkgConfig.cmake:419 (message):
A required package was not found
Call Stack (most recent call first):
/usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPkgConfig.cmake:597 (_pkg_check_modules_internal)
cmake/ARGoSBuildChecks.cmake:5 (pkg_check_modules)
CMakeLists.txt:50 (include)
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!


I downloaded the folder from the following link https://github.com/mstalamali/argos3-kilobot

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby AntonioC » Sat Jan 08, 2022 12:05 pm

I need a solution urgently please.

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby pincy » Sat Jan 08, 2022 5:52 pm

The correct location for the kilobot plugin is here:

https://github.com/ilpincy/argos3-kilobot

It looks like you downloaded a fork made by another user, and the user didn't keep the fork up-to-date with the original package. The repository you're using has not been updated in the past 2 years.
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby AntonioC » Sat Jan 08, 2022 9:12 pm

Is there an old version of Argos compatible with this repository?

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby pincy » Sat Jan 08, 2022 9:15 pm

The entire history of the ARGoS releases is available on Github, so the answer is yes. I don't know which specific version is compatible, you should ask the author of the repository. Or, maybe better, you should ask the author of the repository to modernize it, so it's compatible with the current version of ARGoS.

A possible way to do it is to create an issue on the Github repository you want to use. This way other people who want to use the same code can see the issue and hopefully contribute to fixing it.

The necessary changes should be quite simple, anyway. You can use Github to see what changed between the original version and the version you want to use, and merge manually.
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby AntonioC » Sat Jan 08, 2022 9:38 pm

Perfect thanks!
What is the github link with the list of all versions of Argos?

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby pincy » Sat Jan 08, 2022 9:45 pm

It's simply the ARGoS repository: https://github.com/ilpincy/argos3/tags

It's much simpler to fix the kilobot repository than it is to install an old version of ARGoS. The changes I needed to make were necessary for ARGoS to work on modern OS, due to breaking changes in Qt. I advise you against using an old version of ARGoS, you'll waste a lot of time.
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby AntonioC » Sat Jan 08, 2022 11:35 pm

I need to install version 3.0.0-beta52.
How can I uninstall the current version and install 3.0.0-beta52?

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby pincy » Sat Jan 08, 2022 11:43 pm

I would suggest you again not to do this, it's a waste of time. It's harder to install an old version of ARGoS than it is to patch a couple of cmake lines in the repository you want.

It literally boils down to looking into the original repository commits. It will take you 5 minutes.

As for instructions, I have written them multiple times in the forum, please make a search and you'll find all the details.
I made ARGoS.

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: No package 'argos3_simulator' found

Postby pincy » Sat Jan 08, 2022 11:52 pm

I'll try to look into it if I have some time over the weekend. Unfortunately it's a really messy period, so I can't promise a lot, but I'll try.

I would suggest you to spend some time learning cmake, git, and the GitHub interface, so you can sort this kind of problems without having to rely on me.
I made ARGoS.


Return to “How to... ?”



cron