Symbol "kilobot" not found

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby AntonioC » Fri Jan 07, 2022 2:36 pm

When I try to run the command:

Code: Select all

argos3 -c src/examples/experiments/kilobot_blinky.argos
The following errors appear:

Code: Select all

[FATAL] Failed to initialize the space. [FATAL] Symbol "kilobot" not found.

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby pincy » Fri Jan 07, 2022 2:40 pm

You need to install the kilobot plugin with make install.
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby AntonioC » Fri Jan 07, 2022 3:53 pm

I downloaded the folder from: https://github.com/ilpincy/argos3-kilobot
And I ran the following commands:

Code: Select all

mkdir build cd build cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release ../src make sudo make install

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby pincy » Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:23 pm

Maybe your installation is not correct. What's the output of the following commands:

Code: Select all

which argos3 ls /usr/local/lib/argos3 ls /usr/local/bin/argos3 ls /usr/lib/argos3 ls /usr/bin/argos3
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby AntonioC » Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:50 pm

Code: Select all

antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ which argos3 /usr/bin/argos3 antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ ls /usr/local/lib/argos3 libargos3plugin_simulator_kilobot.so libargos3plugin_simulator_kilolib.a antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ ls /usr/local/bin/argos3 ls: cannot access '/usr/local/bin/argos3': No such file or directory antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ ls /usr/lib/argos3 libargos3core_simulator.so libargos3plugin_simulator_eyebot.so libargos3plugin_simulator_prototype.so libargos3plugin_simulator_dynamics2d.so libargos3plugin_simulator_footbot.so libargos3plugin_simulator_qtopengl.so libargos3plugin_simulator_dynamics3d.so libargos3plugin_simulator_genericrobot.so libargos3plugin_simulator_spiri.so libargos3plugin_simulator_entities.so libargos3plugin_simulator_media.so libargos3plugin_simulator_epuck.so libargos3plugin_simulator_pointmass3d.so antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ ls /usr/bin/argos3 /usr/bin/argos3 antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby pincy » Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:53 pm

OK so the problem is due to the fact that ARGoS is installed in /usr/lib/argos3, but the kilobot plugin is installed in /usr/local/lib/argos3.

Two possible solutions:

Code: Select all

sudo mv /usr/local/lib/argos3 /usr/lib
or

Code: Select all

rm -rf /usr/local/lib/argos3 cd argos3-kilobot rm -rf build mkdir build cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr ../src make sudo make install
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby AntonioC » Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:23 pm

Code: Select all

antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ sudo mv /usr/local/lib/argos3 /usr/lib [sudo] password for antonio: mv: cannot move '/usr/local/lib/argos3' to '/usr/lib/argos3': Directory not empty antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$ rm -rf /usr/local/lib/argos3 rm: cannot remove '/usr/local/lib/argos3/libargos3plugin_simulator_kilolib.a': Permission denied rm: cannot remove '/usr/local/lib/argos3/libargos3plugin_simulator_kilobot.so': Permission denied antonio@antonio-Lenovo-V110-15AST:~/Downloads/argos3-kilobot-master$

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby pincy » Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:35 pm

Well, then copy the files over and remove them... :-)
I hope the point is clear: the files are in the wrong place.
I made ARGoS.

AntonioC
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:02 pm

Re: Symbol "kilobot" not found

Postby AntonioC » Fri Jan 07, 2022 6:30 pm

I logged in as root and ran the commands you wrote me. Now everything works. Thanks so much. :D


Return to “How to... ?”