example "flocking.argos"

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
alexprocopio

example "flocking.argos"

Postby alexprocopio » Tue Oct 29, 2013 7:53 pm

How can I change the example "flocking.argos" for when the robots surround the light sensor,
the light sensor can move, simulating what is a bird, and robots continue surrounding the sensor?

I am studying Brazilian has installed 10 days this simulator.
Very interesting, just need more documentation to understand it.

Hugs to all.

Alex Procopio
alex.procopio @ hotmail.com

pincy
Site Admin

Re: example "flocking.argos"

Postby pincy » Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:25 pm

Hi Alex,

You can change the position of the light using the loop functions. To understand how the loop functions work, have a look at the CLoopFunction class documentation; for an example, check the foraging experiment.

In the end, the code boils down to this:

Code: Select all

/***********************/ /* my_loop_functions.h */ /***********************/ class MyLoopFunctions : public CLoopFunctions { public: virtual void PostStep(); };

/*************************/ /* my_loop_functions.cpp */ /*************************/ void MyLoopFunctions::PostStep() { // Get a reference to the light CLightEntity& cLight = dynamic_cast<CLightEntity&>(GetSpace().GetEntity("light")); // Move the light entity to the wanted position cLight.SetPosition(CVector3(x, y, z)); } REGISTER_LOOP_FUNCTIONS(MyLoopFunctions, "my_loop_functions");
To use the loop functions, add this to your .argos file:

/******************/ /* flocking.argos */ /******************/ <argos-configuration> ... <loop_functions library="/PATH/TO/libmy_loop_functions.so" label="my_loop_functions" /> ... </argos-configuration>
Alternatively, if you want to have a controller dedicated to the moving object, you can add a robot playing the part of the bird and write a controller for it.

Cheers,
Carlo
I made ARGoS.

alexprocopio

Postby alexprocopio » Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:57 am