experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
galk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2023 5:59 pm

experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby galk » Sun Jul 30, 2023 7:48 pm

Hi,
I am a professor doing swarm research. Over the years we've been using argos (Thanks!).
I hope I am asking in the right forum.

We recently developed our own plugin robot, shaped as black rectangular boxes. When we use it with argos which we compile from source, everything works. When we use it with ubuntu-packaged argos, the robot boxes are not seen. They seem to run, but nothing is shown -- the arena is empty. I have tried running with the pre-packaged plugins and examples -- and everything is OK. I am betting that something in our source code and/or library linkage is wrong, but cannot for the life of me understand what. The plugin ".so" seems to be found and loaded.

I simply have no clue as to what could be wrong, and how to go about finding what it could be. Would appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks,

Gal

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby pincy » Sun Jul 30, 2023 8:03 pm

If you share the code I can have a look. I'm sure it's a small detail you have overlooked.
I made ARGoS.

galk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2023 5:59 pm

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby galk » Mon Jul 31, 2023 7:26 pm

This is great! Thanks!

The plugin code is public, at: https://bitbucket.org/smartswarms/nymbo ... rc/master/
The branch in question is "feature/install-with-prepackaged-deb"

cmake ../src works (the buildall script is just for convenience of some of the students who are a bit more shy of the command-line in the beginning of the school year.

Should I contact you privately?

galk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2023 5:59 pm

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby galk » Wed Aug 02, 2023 2:46 pm

Additional clues:

1. A student using an older ubuntu (mint, actually) with QT5 has managed to compile successfully and run. Same code on my machine with QT6 (and the ubuntu 22 package) displays the same error as before (i.e., does not show the robots)

2. The examples git complies without a problem, and examples run correctly and display

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby pincy » Sat Aug 12, 2023 11:49 am

Having a look this weekend and reporting back!
I made ARGoS.

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby pincy » Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:56 pm

It took me a while because I needed to fix a few compilation issues, but this patch works for me. I tested the code against the latest version of ARGoS.
Attachments
patch.txt
(14.65 KiB) Downloaded 3782 times
I made ARGoS.

galk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2023 5:59 pm

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby galk » Wed Aug 23, 2023 8:38 pm

Thanks so much! Will try this and report back.
What was the problem (in general terms)?

galk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2023 5:59 pm

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby galk » Sat Aug 26, 2023 4:49 pm

Many many thanks for the patch. It now works (with some manual intervention, which I will fix)

Original problem:
argos3 was installed from ubuntu pre-compiled deb packages. It is not compiled from source.
The plugin in question is compiling, but the robots do not appear (as boxes) in the arena, though the code
seems to be running.

Current state:
I applied the patch successfully to the master branch. No errors or warnings in executing the path. There are some warnings when building and making. Compilation does go through. However, when attempting to
execute a simple example
> argos3 -c src/experiments/insectbot_simple.argos

argos complains that it cannot find the insectbot symbol and halts:

[FATAL] Failed to initialize the space.
[FATAL] Symbol "insectbot" not found

Then, I noticed that the installation step in "make install" is installing to a different folder than the rest of
the plugins. Specifically:
* The deb packages install everything argos3 related in /usr/lib/argos3/
* The plugin is being installed in /usr/local/lib/argos3

Once I manually copy the plugin .so file to /usr/lib/argos3/ everything works.

There is something wrong in the cmake config, though I am not sure what it is. I will figure it out
and report.

This is really fantastic. Many thanks!

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby pincy » Wed Sep 06, 2023 2:50 am

Happy this helped!
I made ARGoS.

galk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2023 5:59 pm

Re: experimental plugin; robots not shown in arena

Postby galk » Fri Dec 01, 2023 10:26 am

Just realized I did not report back. The cmake is fixed, and the plugin is installed correctly. We are really happy!

Thanks again for the help and the great platform.

Gal


Return to “How to... ?”