How do I modify the robot entity

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
Net

How do I modify the robot entity

Postby Net » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:56 pm

Hello,

I'm really new to all this, and I'm having trouble doing things beyond the examples.
In the long run I would like to implement my own robot model, but for know I want to edit and modify existing robots, specifically the sensors on the e-puck.

I'm currently testing different coverage algorithms and would benefit from having longer sensor ranges.
I saw that this is possible to edit from the epuck_entity.cpp file. However I can't seem to find this file.

I installed argos following the user manual instructions for mac. It seems to me that parts of argos are located in different places. The important parts seem to be mainly in /usr/local/Cellar and the experiments seem to be in a folder on my desktop. It seems to me that the epuck_entity.cpp should be in /usr/local/Cellar/argos3/3.0.0-beta39/include/argos3/plugins/robots/e-puck/simulator but I only see the .h file.

I've downloaded the source from the github, in hopes that I could run the simulation with all the files, but I haven't been able to.

Any help is appreciated.

pincy
Site Admin

Re: How do I modify the robot entity

Postby pincy » Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:12 am

Hi,

When you install a program, you only get the header files (if necessary) and the binaries. Never the sources, because they're not necessary. This is true for any piece of software, including ARGoS. So, it's normal that installing ARGoS through HomeBrew does not include the sources.

If you want to make your own robot, you don't need to modify the ARGoS sources. You can download them for reference (it's a good idea!) or you could read the relevant files on GitHub. Anyway, no modification is necessary.