Detect Foot-bots with Pointmass3d Physics Engine

Requests regarding how to set up experiments in ARGoS.
M_Rizk
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:46 am

Detect Foot-bots with Pointmass3d Physics Engine

Postby M_Rizk » Tue May 29, 2018 6:29 am

I'm currently trying to get foot-bots to go up a slope (represented as a box tilted at an angle). However, the foot-bots move right through the slope, presumably because each is detected by a different physics engine (dynamics2d and pointmass3d respectively). I tried removing dynamics2d from the .argos file but then the foot-bots still ignore the slope as well as walls positioned at height 0 (which would normally also by detected by the 2d engine).

Is it possible to use foot-bots with the pointmass engine? I noticed a pointmass3d_footbot_model class in the source so I think it should be but I'm not sure how to use it. Any guidance would be appreciated.

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Detect Foot-bots with Pointmass3d Physics Engine

Postby pincy » Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:04 pm

You can try and use the dynamics3d engine, which was recently added. Contact allsey87 on github to know how to work with it.
I made ARGoS.

allsey87
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 3:30 pm

Re: Detect Foot-bots with Pointmass3d Physics Engine

Postby allsey87 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:28 pm

Unfortunately the foot-bot isn't currently supported by the dynamics 3D engine. There are, however, plans to add it in the future. If you would like to see support added sooner, you can model the foot-bot using the prototyping plugin.

Once I have a stable / working model for the foot-bot using the prototyping plugin, it is reasonably straightforward for me to implement a dedicated model for the robot.
I work with ARGoS a lot.

M_Rizk
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:46 am

Re: Detect Foot-bots with Pointmass3d Physics Engine

Postby M_Rizk » Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:29 am

I'm trying to replicate what was done here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mlHXcCNzjg&t=54s

Do you think this code used a custom plugin to enable the foot-bots to move in 3D space?

pincy
Site Admin
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Detect Foot-bots with Pointmass3d Physics Engine

Postby pincy » Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:59 pm

No, it was done with the old version of ARGoS, which is now discontinued.
I made ARGoS.


Return to “How to... ?”



cron